Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
8,703件の評価

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT

2015年9月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

2021年4月10日

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 76 - 100 / 2,011 レビュー

by Matthew S

2015年8月29日

I found this course immensely mentally stimulating, and tailored well to those of us who are new to philosophy. I found the weeks that covered the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of time-travel to be particularly engaging and mind-expanding for me. I feel like this course has really opened the door to help me further explore in more depth the philosophical ideas that it provided me a guided introduction to. I would love to see other, more specialized philosophy courses offered on Coursera that cover the topics discussed in week 3, week 4, week 5, week 6 and week 7 individually in more depth in separate courses!

by Vern

2017年8月19日

This course provides a good and solid foundation for understanding what philosophy is, how it works, why we should philosophise, and, some of the major questions that philosophy continues to analyse today.

My main interests in philosophy would be: the philosophy of Science and the philosophy of Religion. I'd like to learn why we believe what we believe.

I'd recommend this course to anyone that seeks to understand what is philosophy and how we do philosophy.

Thanks to The University of Edinburgh, to Coursera, the professors, and all those who made this course available free of charge.

Cheers.

by Kyel E

2021年12月14日

Very factual, and intriguing course stuffed with information! I really learned a lot from this course, and will definitely be going through it again to really grasp the info because it is dense. From how it started, to real philosophical questions, it gets you thinking. I paid for the course to get the certificate for my work resume, and it really did pay off. I'm glad I took a leap of faith with coursera and decided to try out their courses. I'm enrolled in at least 4 others, and I can't wait to learn more. Definitely take this course with a notebook so you get all you can out of it.

by Irving M G

2020年8月22日

ME PARECIÓ EXTRAORDINARIO EL MODO DE ENSEÑAR DE ESTE CURSO. SUS PROFESORES EXCELENTES. ALGUNAS PREGUNTAS DE LOS EXAMENES DEBERÍAN EXPRESAR MEJOR QUE PUEDEN SER VARIAS OPCIONES EN VEZ DE SOLO UNA OPCIÓN, NO SIEMPRE PUDE ADVERTIRLO, ASUMO QUE QUIZÁ ME FALTA EXPERIENCIA EN ESTE MODELO SISTEMA EDUCATIVO A DISTANCIA.

INTENTARÉ PROBAR ALGO PARECIDO CON MIS ALUMNOS DE LA UNIVERSIDAD MONTEAVILA (CARACAS, VENEZUELA), EN LA MATERIA DE ETICA PARA ABOGADOS, YA QUE NO ES POSIBLE POR AHORA DAR CLASES PRESENCIALES. SIN LUGAR A DUDAS QUE TOMARÍA OTRO CURSO CON USTEDES. LO RECOMIENDO AMPLIAMENTE

by Maya S

2018年6月17日

I took this course purely out of self-interest, because as a college student pursuing an engineering degree, my subjects tend to be more technical oriented, and a tab bit dry. This entire course, from start to finish, was nothing short of amazing. Each teacher taught their material with vigorous passion, and the topics covered were both interesting and educative. They were thoroughly explained but easy to understand, and overall, I would, with complete and utter certainty, do a course by this University again in a heartbeat. Thank you to all the teachers, for being so passionate.

by Rhitansu G

2017年5月6日

I really needed answers to some questions about life about equality, justice, empathy, morality, etc. After finishing this course I still do not have the answers, but I feel I am in a better position to read and think more about these questions. These questions are not just for academic interest. I feel it is difficult to along in life without some answers about these fundamental aspects of our day to day life. Philosophy should be a part of our school curriculum. I really appreciate the way it has been taught in this course and the dedication of the teachers to their subject.

by Leyla G

2015年11月6日

I thoroughly enjoyed taking part in this course. The modules covered a multitude of diverse branches of philosophy which helped me to broaden my knowledge of the subject overall and the lecturers were incredibly helpful in explaining simply, and with useful examples, new information. The course has further deepened my love for the subject and the platforms of assessment were challenging, but did not feel labourly. I would without a doubt recommend anybody, regardless of former experience of the subject, to partake in this course and I am highly glad to have had the experience.

by Surya N D

2020年7月2日

I am a novice to philosophy and concepts of it but I was always intrigued by philosophy although I viewed it as something abstract, undefinable in definite terms unlike science and engineering that years of education and experience ingrained in me. This course has cleared many of my misgivings and gave a solid foundation of introduction to philosophy and has piqued my interest to pursue this further, now more as a subject of interest than a curious hobby. Thanks to the exceptional videos put together by a gifted faculty. Kudos to Coursera and the University of Edinburgh.

by Marly O B S

2020年6月30日

My name is Marly Balderrama, I am a Licenciatura student of Letras-Portugues here in São Paulo. This was my first contact with PHILOSOPHY, I am delighted with the Course. I thought it was difficult for me, and it was. I had to read and warm my brain to understand, understand many teachings that our mind is not aware of the details of life. Only by studying Philosophy that, with this discipline and through its definitions, defined and indefinite, concrete or abstract, allowed me to enter this concept of really studying everything in this life. You know what, I loved it.

by Marius R

2020年6月16日

It was my very first course in Philosophy. Although my background is on electromagnetism and its application to various computer-based designs this course strengthened my view on social life and changed my way of looking at things are not yet revealed by science. Navigating through the concepts of philosophy from notions related to epistemology to concepts related to mind and free will intrigued my curiosity and spirit of continuous learning, by projecting myself to the reality I always sensed it and experienced it but never consciously acknowledged its source.

by Pedro U

2020年12月3日

The course was very interesting and the course material, books and papers extremely helpful. I have to point out that having taken a fair number of courses, this time the platform was disappointing. I had to repeat tests that I had approved with 100% success rate because it did not recognize them as completed. Finally I succeeded in repeating them and approving all of them. I also payed for a certificate and got a receipt for it, but i don't know how I am going to get the receipt. If you need me to send the receipt I can do that.Hoping to hear from you soon

by Yuki K S N

2020年7月15日

I've always loved Philosophy and thinking how to think/thinking as a whole. On top of that, in my real-life university, I double major in something else, so I don't have enough credits to take Philosophy on as a minor or a major. I'm so glad I have a chance like this to take on such a broad range of topics. This module is very, very ideal for those new to Philosophy, especially since it essentially functions as an exposure mod as you enter Philo with a broad range of topics. You can essentially choose what you're interested in to go more in-depth with it.

by Alexandra C D

2016年1月28日

A nice and flexible course, in which you can explore the wide range of possibilities from the minimum basic level of subject to studying all the additional material and problematics. Rather interesting functional approach to the structure of philosophical knowledge. For the foreigners (as I am) the English is quite understandable (It is subtitled, but the subtitles are not necessary if you are above B2 / IELTS 7.0 level) and at the same time sufficiently sophisticated to acquire also some useful listening practice for academic IELTS / PTE Academic tests.

by Mikhail R

2015年9月3日

Amazing introduction to the basics of philosophy - I wish I had such in university or at some other early point. It shows you breadth, scope and problems philosophy deals with. Course tries to maintain simplicity and clarity of explanations even for very complex things and this is exactly what you need for a subject which is normally deemed too complex for beginners or gives an explanations which for uninitiated do not add clarity and rather raise even more questions.

Loads of fun and topics which may make you think more and induce your curiosity.

by Offer L

2022年12月3日

If you have some time to invest in looking deeper than the day-to-day hassle, I really recommend you invest in this course.

A group of many talented lecturers are giving here the basics for logical thinking, deeper understanding of arguments, and the ability to stop for a moment from our normal one-sided perspective and giving place to other ways of looking on the same basic things.

I'm really happy I took this course, and I hope to have the time and mind to go into more advanced course to continue this 'journey'.

Thank you so much for this course!

by Sal t S m

2020年6月30日

This is by far the best course i've taken online . As a student of science I've always found philosophy to be very compelling . I was always interested in philosophy but I didn't want to change disciplines . I didn't have high expectations of this course but at the end I really got impressed of the amount of knowledge I'd accumulated along the way. This course touches on lots of subjects and teaches lots of valuable philosophical materials . This course improved my insight and fueled my interest for philosophy .I recommend this to everyone .

by Altaf R

2018年3月6日

I must say its a wonderfully helpful short course for beginners. The best thing about this course to my understanding is that:

Its made easy for all those who want to study philosophy

Its modules are well wittingly selected to make such an enticing introductory course for all those who have rather a cynical opinion about philosophy as science or subject

and the free access to those reading materials and websites

I enjoyed truly every bit and parts of the this introduction to philosophy by the institute for which I will be evergrateful.

by sahir h

2020年4月29日

Great packed course talking about basics. The supplementary reading was really helpful in detailing out the concepts. The topic is something that is not taught as a regular course ins school or college and hence a lot of us have skipped it. I would urge a bunch of us to try the course. The university faculty did a good compilation on every topic.

I do have a couple of feedbacks. One is around discussing moral ethics in slightly more details. The other one interesting pedagogy would be to have open discussions around topical issues.

by Sascha R

2015年8月21日

Great course to introduce non-professionals/beginners into major fields or topics of philosophy. Excellent quality of lessons: teachers were always good to understand, even for non-native speakers, and eager to get across main themes to disciples inexperienced in philosophical studies. Only critique: difficulty levels of exams could have been more evenly balanced.

I can only recommend this course to anyone interested in the study of philosophy; great job by the University of Edinburgh and its staff for organizing this on Coursera.

by Antonio A

2019年12月14日

I loved the course, I've been reading, for many years, about economics, models of economics, Marx, Mises, Hegel, Hayek, anyway, suddenly, unintentionally I watched a documentary of classical Greek philosophy and began to think differently about of things; I started reading about moral philosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, theory of knowledge, in short, I decided to make the course and I see it as a beginning to continue preparing in philosophy. As an academic, I have changed the focus of my classes in college.

by Dan P

2020年5月5日

Having some unexpected time on my hands, I took the opportunity to explore a subject that I have had no previous experience of. I found this course liberating and took to it enthusiastically. Having spent over 40 years outside of the academic environment some of the concepts took some effort to understand, but the additional reading material helped to provide further clarity. I now find that I am thinking more clearly on most aspects of my life and would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to challenge themselves.

by PACO S M

2020年3月29日

Thank you for putting together the information that kept me learning and away from the Corona Virus madness. I thoroughly enjoyed every lecturer and thank the Philosophy Department in Edinburgh for providing me the opportunity to listen and see you in my monitor. At 54 years old, your blessings have enlightened my way of thinking, and certainly today I might say, I have risen my level to what the first lecture establishes: Philosophy is a better way of thinking about things.... Gratefully yours, Francisco San Miguel

by Lucy E

2022年11月11日

This was my first Coursera experience since retiring from my clinical role in the NHS .

It is incredible that you can undertake such a high quality course for free. I have learnt a great deal and it has really given me a flavour of what to expect if I were to choose to undertake this as full time degree subject.

I did not interact on the forum and found this a bit overwhelming .

I was not clear about the 'options' element, but got this sorted in the end and did all the options.

Great course. Thank you.

by Gianfranco D

2020年2月23日

I've found this course interesting and engaging, as well as its lecturers. What I've appreciated most is the way as the course has been developed; questions for every single part of the lesson help the learner to reflect if the bulk of what you heard has been well understood; it's like when at school you raise your hand asking an explanation. In my opinion, I'd increase these moments of reflexion. Tests at the end of every single week allow the students to deepen into the topic. Congratulations to all.

by Naud P M

2021年4月15日

It has been a great and insightful experience for me. The course has motivated me to pursue further studies where I can attain accreditations for Masters and even Doctoral scholarship. The platform is very friendly; with incredible Lecturers presenting accessible material, with great ease to make notes online, further reference material and exercises that helped to give clarity on the content material.

I'm immensely grateful for the opportunity accorded to me and thank all those who made it possible.